Becasse

Where: Level 5/Westfield Sydney Cnr of Pitt St Mall and Market St, Sydney NSW 2000
When: Dinner, 18th July 2011
URL: http://www.becasse.com.au/

Bespoke winter vegetable garden

Bespoke winter vegetable garden

This is easily the best meal. Ever.

Given the option to pay an extra $20 to swap any course for a ‘special’ truffle risotto, and being a sucker for truffles, there was no way I’d pass on that. I  sacrificed (with relative ease?) the winter vegetables and missed out on the prettiest dish, but hey, anything for truffles! Definitely no regrets upon seeing a bowl almost covered with truffle shavings.

The restaurant is really small (approx. 30 people), and with low lighting the only way to get a decent shot was to get my flash on. After much hesitation (and missing out on 2 dishes), I finally asked the staff for permission to snap some photos (and blind all the other patrons).

Forgotten vegetables, smoked pork jowl, yabby tails with aromas of cedar

Forgotten vegetables, smoked pork jowl, yabby tails with aromas of cedar

Dish of the Day: Forgotten vegetables (Signature Dish)

I like my vegetables, but never would I imagine myself loving a vegetable dish over other meat dishes including (gasp!) wagyu. Justin North successfully turned Kurobuta pork and yabby into supporting elements in this dish. Veggie power! Needless to say, great balance in flavours. Love the different textures and the overall charred, smokey taste and smell.

I really enjoyed the dining experience, and this is perhaps the perfect way to start this blog. Just hoping that Mum and Dad don’t ask to see the receipt.

After fiddling with the photos for like an hour, I realise perhaps the best way to share my experience in Becasse is to place everything in a slideshow. How convenient! I must admit, I cannot help but smile whenever I browse through these photos.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Becasse on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment